Month: April 2010

  • I am a cancer survivor!

    Well, here I am. I am through with chemo (HUZZAH!!), and feeling really good! I am looking forward to my energy level matching how good I am feeling, but this shall come in time. I lost a total of 71 pound during my illness, once my appetite came back I gained only 4 of those back. Today’s weigh-in found me a pound and half lighter…another two and half pounds and I am back to the 71 I originally lost. I can see my second major goal so closely…250 pounds! I know I can do it…I fought cancer and won! So therefore, I can do this…piece of cake!

    I tracked my food and did really well! I did not make it to the treadmill as I ran around a lot this morning at work and it was too much. I have to remember to take things slowly. The chemo was hard on my body and it is going to take time to build up strength and stamina. My poor heart was palpitating way too much this morning and my bones on the outside of my upper legs (are those side thigh bones? Need to look it up) really hurt.

    I called and asked my doctor today when I can begin to take Zinc, Biotin and Fish Oil to help my hair grow back nice and thick and healthy. He said I can start anytime, so tomorrow I’ll add those to my multivitamin and calcium pills. I cannot WAIT until my hair starts to grow back. I just don’t do well bald! *LOL*

    So, today was a good day. I am consciously Sparking (I refer to Sparkpeople.com..my favorite “diet” site )again and look forward to all the joys and accomplished goals I have to look forward to in the future.

    Bright Blessings,
    Ame