Month: February 2010

  • Update

    A couple of weeks before I started back to work, I saw a hematology oncologist. He felt that due to certain criteria, I should have 3 rounds of preventative chemo therapy. He said my odds of getting cancer again without the chemo is 50-50, with chemo only 80-20. I like those odds much better and decided even before I left his office that I would have the therapy.

    I had the first round the Friday I started back to work. The actual chemo wasn’t so bad, surprisingly. The next morning I went back to get an injection that helps boost the white blood cell count. They said my bones would ache for a few days, however, I was not prepared for the excruciating pain in my thighs and ankles. I couldn’t sleep on Tuesday night and ended up staying home. I called the physician’s office to find out what else I could do besides take Tylenol(Yeeeeeeeeah….Tylenol) and how long the pain would last. I was told to try Claritin D, something about the antihistamine that helps the pain. I was amazed to find out it DID help and I was so grateful. It is now sitting on the table next to my couch in readiness for this weekend. The pain disappeared around Thursday.

    I was also dealing with nausea. *sigh* It was only a couple of days as well, so I survived. I have felt pretty good these last two weeks. The only down side is that I am losing my hair…I’ve ordered hats, scarves and am looking at wigs. In the very near future, I will be having my head shaved, but I’m not dealing with that as well as I could be. I know I’ll be okay and my hair should be back by September. It is all part of the journey. Ooh…and I am looking forward to see what my hair looks like once it grows back…that’s kinda exciting to contemplate…sorta.

    This Friday is my second round, and then I only have one more, then I am done! Huzzah! While  I am kinda dreading it, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

    On the upside, I have lost a total of 71 pounds! I went shopping last Saturday and bought some new…smaller… clothes! I love seeing the look on my work friends faces when they see me. Although, while logically I know I look better than I did, once in while I even see it, but the reality of it still hasn’t wended itself into my head.

    Not only that, but when I look at myself in the mirror, I don’t recognize myself. With all that has happened over the past four months, I don’t know who I am any more. After this is all finished, I will begin getting to know myself again. For now, I accept there are things I can’t change, I need to roll with whatever comes my way in the next month, and then I look forward to the next bend in the road.

    So, onward and upward. One day at a time….sometimes one hour at a time. In spite of everything, life is good and I have so much to look forward to in my future.